Term dates

Nursery, community primary, secondary and special schools term dates (guide dates only)

All schools and academies set their own term dates so dates may vary from school to school. Please check details with individual schools.

See school contact details for links to schools’ own websites

Term and holiday dates for 2018/19

AUTUMN TERM

 

Days

Autumn term part 1

Monday 3 September - Friday 19 October 2018

35

Half-term

Monday 22 October - Friday 26 October 2018

 

Autumn term part 2

Monday 29 October - Friday 21 December 2018

40

Christmas break

Monday 24 December 2018 – Friday 4 January 2019

 

SPRING TERM

 

 

Spring term part 1 

Monday 7 January - Friday 15 February 2019

30

Half-term

Monday 18 February - Friday 22 February 2019

 

Spring term part 2 

Monday 25 February - Friday 5 April 2019

30

Easter break

Monday 8 April – Monday 22 April 2019
(Easter weekend 19 - 22 April 2019)

 

SUMMER TERM

 

 

Summer term part 1 

Tuesday 23 April - Friday 24 May 2019
(May Day Bank Holiday will be taken on 6 May 2019)

23

Half-term

Monday 27 May - Friday 31 May 2019
(Spring Bank Holiday will be taken on 27 May 2019)

 

Summer term part 2

Monday 3 June - Tuesday 23 July 2019

37

Summer break

Wednesday 24 July 2019 onwards

 
Total  

195

Public holidays 2018/19

  • Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 2018
  • Boxing Day Wednesday 26 December 2018
  • New Year’s Day Tuesday 1 January 2019
  • Good Friday Friday 19 April 2019
  • Easter Monday Monday 22 April 2019
  • May Day Bank Holiday Monday 6 May 2019
  • Spring Bank Holiday Monday 27 May 2019
  • August Bank Holiday Monday 26 August 2019.

Proposed secondary transfer transition day for Year 6 pupils:

  • For pupils starting secondary school September 2019 – Wednesday 3rd July 2019

In 2018/19 pupils should attend for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teaching staff must be available to work for 195 days during this academic year.

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an inset day.

Term and holiday dates for the 2019/20

AUTUMN TERM

 

Days

Autumn term part 1

Monday 2 September - Friday 18 October 2019 

35

Half-term

Monday 21 October - Friday 25 October 2019

 

Autumn term part 2

Monday 28 October – Thursday 19 December 2019

39

Christmas break

Friday 20 December 2019 - Friday 3 January 2020

 

SPRING TERM

 

 

Spring term part 1 

Monday 6 January - Friday 14 February 2020 

30

Half-term

Monday 17 February - Friday 21 February 2020 

 

Spring term part 2 

Monday 24 February - Friday 3 April 2020

30

Easter break

Monday 6 April - Friday 17 April 2020
(Easter weekend 10 - 13 April 2020)

 

SUMMER TERM

 

 

Summer term part 1 

Monday 20 April - Friday 22 May 2020  
(May Day Bank Holiday will be taken on 4 May 2020)

24

Half-term

Monday 25 May - Friday 29 May 2020
(Spring Bank Holiday will be taken on 25 May 2020)

 

Summer term part 2

Monday 1 June - Tuesday 21 July 2020   

37

Summer break

Wednesday 22 July 2020 onwards

 
Total  

195

Public holidays 2019/20

  • Christmas Day - Wednesday 25 December 2019
  • Boxing Day - Thursday 26 December 2019
  • New Year’s Day - Wednesday 1 January 2020
  • Good Friday - Friday 10 April 2020
  • Easter Monday - Monday 13 April 2020
  • May Day Bank Holiday - Monday 4 May 2020
  • Spring Bank Holiday - Monday 25 May 2020
  • August Bank Holiday - Monday 27 August 2020

The dates show schools being open for 195 days. From these, five staff training dates are to be determined by the school’s governing body. Some governing bodies may choose to hold staff training at ‘twilight sessions’ after the school day and to extend the school holiday for staff.

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an 'inset' day.

Proposed secondary transfer transition day for Year 6 pupils:

  • For pupils starting secondary school September 2020 – Wednesday 1 July 2020
Advertisement