School term and holiday dates

Nursery, community primary, secondary and special schools term dates (guide dates only)

All schools and academies set their own term dates so dates may vary from school to school. Please check details with individual schools.

See school contact details for links to schools’ own websites.

The dates below show schools being open for 195 days. From these, 5 staff training dates are to be determined by the school’s governing body. Some governing bodies may choose to hold staff training at ‘twilight sessions’ after the school day and to extend the school holiday for staff.

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an 'inset' day.

View the term and holiday dates for:

Term and holiday dates for 2019-20

Autumn term 2019 - 74 days

The autumn term starts on Monday 2 September and ends on Thursday 19 December 2019.

The half-term holiday is Monday 21 October to Friday 25 October 2019.

The Christmas break starts on Friday 20 December 2019 and ends on Friday 3 January 2020.

Spring term 2020 - 60 days

The spring term starts on Monday 6 January and ends on Friday 3 April 2020.

The half-term holiday is Monday 17 February to Friday 21 February 2020

The Easter break starts on Monday 6 April and ends on Friday 17 April 2020.

Summer term 2020 - 61 days

The summer term starts on Monday 20 April and ends on Tuesday 21 July 2020.

The half-term holiday is Monday 25 May to Friday 29 May 2020.

The summer break starts on Wednesday 22 July 2020.

For Year 6 pupils starting secondary school in September 2020, the proposed date for secondary transfer transition day is Wednesday 1 July 2020.

Public holidays 2019-20

  • Wednesday 25 December 2019 - Christmas Day
  • Thursday 26 December 2019 - Boxing Day
  • Wednesday 1 January 2020 - New Year’s Day
  • Friday 10 April 2020 - Good Friday
  • Monday 13 April 2020 - Easter Monday
  • Friday 8 May 2020 - Early May bank holiday (VE day)
  • Monday 25 May 2020 - Spring bank holiday
  • Monday 31 August 2020 - Summer bank holiday

Term and holiday dates for 2020-21

Autumn term 2020 - 73 days

The autumn term starts on Wednesday 2 September and ends on Friday 18 December 2020.

The half-term holiday is Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020.

The Christmas break starts on Monday 21 December 2020 and ends on Friday 1 January 2021.

Spring term 2021 - 58 days

The spring term starts on Monday 4 January and ends on Wednesday 31 March 2021.

The half-term holiday is Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021.

The Easter break starts on Thursday 1 April and ends on Friday 16 April 2021.

Summer term 2021 - 64 days

The summer term starts on Monday 19 April and ends on Friday 23 July 2021.

The early May bank holiday will be taken on Monday 3 May 2021.

The half-term holiday is Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021.

The summer break starts on Monday 26 July 2021.

For Year 6 pupils starting secondary school in September 2021, the proposed date for secondary transfer transition day is Wednesday 7 July 2021.

Public holidays 2020-21 (pending confirmation)

  • Friday 25 December 2020 - Christmas Day
  • Monday 28 December 2020 - Boxing Day (substitute day)
  • Friday 1 January 2021 - New Year’s Day
  • Friday 2 April 2021 - Good Friday
  • Monday 5 April 2021 - Easter Monday
  • Monday 3 May 2021 - Early May bank holiday
  • Monday 31 May 2021 - Spring bank holiday
  • Monday 30 August 2021 - Summer bank holiday
Click or tap for help splitting up with smoking this October
Advertisement