School term and holiday dates

Nursery, community primary, secondary and special schools term dates (guide dates only)

All schools and academies set their own term dates so dates may vary from school to school. Please check details with individual schools.

See school contact details for links to schools’ own websites.

The dates below show schools being open for 195 days. From these, 5 staff training dates are to be determined by the school’s governing body. Some governing bodies may choose to hold staff training at ‘twilight sessions’ after the school day and to extend the school holiday for staff.

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an 'inset' day.

View the term and holiday dates for:

Term and holiday dates for 2019-20

Spring term 2020 - 60 days
Starts Monday 6 January
Half term Monday 17 to Friday 21 February
Ends Friday 3 April

The Easter break starts on Monday 6 April and ends on Friday 17 April 2020.

Summer term 2020 - 61 days
Starts Monday 20 April
Half term Monday 25 to Friday 29 May
Ends Tuesday 21 July

The summer break starts on Wednesday 22 July 2020.

For Year 6 pupils starting secondary school in September 2020, the proposed date for secondary transfer transition day is Wednesday 1 July 2020.

Public holidays during the 2019-20 school year
Good Friday Friday 10 April 2020
Easter Monday Monday 13 April 2020
Early May bank holiday (VE Day) Friday 8 May 2020
Spring bank holiday Monday 25 May 2020
Summer bank holiday Monday 31 August 2020

Term and holiday dates for 2020-21

Autumn term 2020 - 73 days
Starts Wednesday 2 September
Half term Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October
Ends Friday 18 December

The Christmas break starts on Monday 21 December 2020 and ends on Friday 1 January 2021.

Spring term 2021 - 58 days
Starts Monday 4 January 2021
Half term Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021
Ends Wednesday 31 March 2021

The Easter break starts on Thursday 1 April and ends on Friday 16 April 2021.

Summer term 2021 - 64 days
Starts Monday 19 April 2021
Half term Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021
Ends Friday 23 July 2021

The summer break starts on Monday 26 July 2021.

For Year 6 pupils starting secondary school in September 2021, the proposed date for secondary transfer transition day is Wednesday 7 July 2021.

Public holidays during the 2020-21 school year (pending confirmation)
Christmas Day Friday 25 December 2020
Boxing Day Monday 28 December 2020 (substitute day)
New Year's Day Friday 1 January 2021
Good Friday Friday 2 April 2021
Easter Monday Monday 5 April 2021
Early May bank holiday Monday 3 May 2021
Spring bank holiday Monday 31 May 2021
Summer bank holiday Monday 30 August 2021
Want to stay connected with H&F? Sign-up to the council
Advertisement